Tuesday, July 30, 2013

The XXIII Biennial National Conference of AICGWBEA held at Jodhpur 
from 19th to 22nd July 2013.
K.S.MADHUSUDHAN - Secretary-General

AICGWBEA Flag was hoisted by Shri. Badri Ram Jakkar, Honorable Member of Parliament. Com. S.K.Vyas, Advisor, Confederation of Central Government Employees & Workers, New Delhi was also present in the program. About 300 delegates and observers participated from different part of the country. Then Homage was paid to the Martyrs by all the leaders of the Confederation, delegates and other comrades.

The Conference was inaugurated by Smt. Chandresh Kumari Katoch, Honorable Union Minister of Culture. The Honorable minister in her inaugural address congratulated the AICGWBEA for holding the National Conference at Jodhpur and extended best wishes for the success of the conference. The Honorable minister assured the genuine demands of the CGWB employees will be taken up with the related ministry to resolve the issues at the earliest. The Honorable minister also assured the genuine demands of the Central Government Employees will be taken care by the government.

Com, S.K.Viyas, Advisor, COC described the Government attitude towards downsizing, contractisum and privatization. He also quoted in his speech about the necessity and justification of merger of 50 % DA with pay with effect from 1.1.2011 and appointment of 7th Pay commission for the central Government employees and withdrawal of PFDRA Bill.

Com. R.N.Choudhry, President of AICGWBEA welcomed the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour, Leaders of Confederation and all other delegates who have come from different part of the country.

Com. K.S. Madhusudhan, Secretary General elaborately described the history of the association since 1973 and functioned in All India CGWB Employees Union under com A.B. Bardhan, CPI, who was the founder president of this organisation. In 1978, this AICGWBE union is brought under the JCM scheme and renamed as All India Central Ground Water Board Employees Association.

Com. N. Somaiah, former Secretary General of AICGWBEA and Vice-President of Confederation of CG employees and workers addressed. In his speech, he quoted the departmental issues which are pending since long i.e. outsourcing of drilling exploratory wells, amendments to Central Civil Service (RP rules 2008) and up gradation of workshop staffs/drilling staff etc.

Com. Krishnan, Secretary General, Confederation of CG employees and workers, New Delhi delivered his speech and greeted for the success of the conference and also appealed to the delegates to take active part in the deliberation sessions with the meaningful debate and adopt appropriate resolutions.  Com. M. Krishnan, highlighted in this speech the role of confederation since 1957 demanding minimum wages for the workers and the success of 1961 and 1968 strikes. Com. M.Krishnan elaborately described that the neo–liberal economic policies of the Government in the last 20 years adversely affected the C.G. Employees resulting in extensive reduction of employees in major departments, i.e., in Railways from 17 lacs to 11 lacs, in Defence from 5.5 lacs to 3.5 lacs (including vacant post of 50,000) and also in other central government departments. Government is also keeping all the vacant posts without filling up thereby causing mental stress to the employees due to over workload and forced them to sit and work without specified working hours. He appreciated the role of AICGWBEA for the active participation in all the struggles including strikes called by the Confederation.

The Second day (20th July 2013) Com. K.S. Madhusudhan, Secretary General presented the Conference report on the activities of AICGWBEA during the last 2 years.  Discussions held on the report and resolutions were adopted on certain major issues. There after elections for the 2013 – 15 were held and the following office bearers were elected.

President                                 : Com. Ram Nivas Choudhary
Vice –President                         : Com. R.K. Pandey
                                                : Com. N. Prem Kumar
Secretary General                     : Com. K.S. Madhusudhan
Assistant Secretary General     : Com. A. Balasundaram
                                                 : Com. Sadasiv Acharya
Organising Secretary                : Com. M. Rajan
Assistant Organising Secretary   :Com. P.C. Sukla
Finance Secretary                    : Com. Shashi Ranjan Kumar.


No comments: