Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Report on Annual Conference of Andaman Nicobar NGO Association (Affiliate of Confederation)

Report on Annual Conference of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association, Andaman and Nicobar Islands held on 14-15 April, 2018 at Port Blair

DAY – 1 (Inaugural Session)

The two days’ Annual Conference of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association, Andaman and Nicobar Islands began with its inaugural session at Kerala Samajam, Port Blair on 14.04.2018. Shri Giriraj Singh, Vice President, Confederation of Central Govt. Employees & Workers, New Delhi inaugurated the Conference. Speaking on the occasion, Shri Giriraj Singh criticized the present government’s retrograde policy to downsize the government sector by abolishing around 05 lakh posts in various departments in the country. He discussed in detail about the Confederations fight for various genuine demands of the government employees which include Revision of Minimum Wage and Fitment Formula, Repealing of NPS and introduction of Old Pension Scheme, removing the 5% ceiling in compassionate appointments, do away with the ‘Very Good’ condition in MACP etc., He urged upon the government employees to stand united in support with the Confederation for achieving the demands and fight against the anti-employee attitude the government. He also assured support from Confederation in the struggles of employees under A & N Administration.

Earlier, welcoming the gathering, Shri Raj Kumar Saw, Chairman, Reception Committee enlightened about the glorious history of the NGOs’ Association and the struggles made by the leaders like Com. PKS Prasad for the benefits being enjoyed by the employees of these islands. Shri K.G.Das, Former General Secretary of the Association; Shri B.Chandrachoodan, General Secretary, CITU; Shri D.Ayyappan, General Secretary, A & N Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association; Shri S.P.Kalairajan, Circle Secretary, BSNLEU and Shri Anadi Bhattacharjee, Secretary, P-IV AIPEU also spoke on the occasion. The Association also honoured 03 former leaders Shri Raj Kumar Saw, Shri A.Adaikkan and Shri Mohammed Ali and a senior office bearer Shri D.N.Banerjee by presenting mementos in the memory of former leader of the Association Shri B.L.Banerjee. A small cultural programme was also presented by children in the beginning. Smt Suma Nair, Joint Secretary, Reception Committee expressed vote of thanks.

DAY – 2 (Delegate Session)
The Delegate Session of the Annual Conference of the Non-Gazetted Government Officers’ Association was held on 15th April,2018 at Kerala Samajam Hall, Port Blair. The session started with the address by Shri P.Sathyapal, President of the Association.In his presidential address he recalled the struggles made by the leaders of the NGOs’ Association like Com.P.K.S.Pkirasad for the facilities which are being enjoyed by the government employees now. He also urged the employees to fight against the growing trend of mass privatization and outsourcing of services. The Delegate Session, at the outset, paid homage to the memory of trade union leaders and other government employees, who passed away during the period since last Conference in April, 2017. Thereafter, Shri T.S.Sreekumar, General Secretary presented the working report of the Association for the last one year while Shri D.S.Clement Stephen, Finance Secretary of the Association presented the Audited Accounts. General Secretary’s report contained an overview of the International, National, Local situations and details of the programmes conducted by the Association during the intervening period. Delegates from various Branches and Sub-Committees actively participated in the discussion on the General Secretary’s Report and Audited Accounts which were later on adopted unanimously. The draft resolutions on various issues and problems affecting the government employees were presented in the meeting which was adopted after addition of various other resolutions made by the delegates during the discussion. About 100 delegates and observers from various outstations and Port Blair/South Andaman, representing thousands of employees, attended the Delegate Session.   A presidium comprising Shri Santosh Kumar Roy, Shri D.N.Banerjee and Smt. Suma Nair conducted the proceedings of the Delegate Session.
Addressing the Conference, Shri Giriraj Singh, Vice President, Confederation of Central Govt. Employees & Workers, New Delhi while clarifying the doubts which were raised by the delegates, urged upon the govt. employees to be united for the fight against the anti-working class policies of government. He also highlighted various important demands which are being raised by the Confederation with the Govt. of India and expressed happiness over the successful conduct of the Annual Conference in a democratic manner. The conference also adopted an amendment in the rules of the Association in regard to the monthly subscription collected from the members. Shri Sasi Kumar, Secretary, Reception Committee proposed Vote of thanks.

General Secretary
NGOs’ Association

No comments: